Visiting Hours: 10am to 4pm Mon & Tues
12pm to 6pm Thurs & Fri (516) 883-4400
Curbside Service: 10am to 6pm on Weekdays

Search the Catalog


Friends of the Library Award

  /    /  Friends of the Library Award

The Friends of the Library Award, established in 1991, honors individuals for their outstanding volunteer service to the library over many years. They are recognized with a permanent plaque bearing their name in the library lobby. The recipients have been:

1991  Richard D. Whittemore

1993  Henry G. Salomon

1995  Ruth Wallace Feingold and Jacqueline Stark Wood

2001  Ruth D. Bogen

2003  Joyce and Robert Fieldsteel

2010  Martin Vogel

2011  Beverly Halm and Joan Kent

2014  Amy G. Bass

2019  Robert Lee Aitken







FOL President Amy Bass with 2019
recipient Robert Lee Aitken 



2011: Three volunteer leaders recognized with the FOL Award pose in the library lobby before newly installed plaques bearing their names and are congratulated by North Hempstead Councilman Fred Pollack, who presented each with a proclamation in their honor. From left to right: Library board president Lee Aitken; Library director Nancy Curtin; Honorees Martin Vogel, Beverly Halm and Joan Kent; FOL President Amy G. Bass; Councilman Pollack. Photo: Will Wright.